0

Your Cart is Empty

glossary

Addon 

The word "addon" means "extension". This element constitutes the central and interchangeable part of the ring. This can be made from a large range of metals such as carbon, steel, acetate, precious wood, pink gold, palladium, tantalum, silver, etc.

Addon medium 

A medium addon measures one third of a normal addon. Thus, three are needed to make a full addon.
This allows a large number of additional possibilities for the customization of one's mood ring. 

Polymer Addon

The polymer is a kind of plastic.  

Base 

The base is the part of the ring, in surgical steel 316 L (stainless steel) on which the central interchangeable section of the ring is placed: the addon.The base is made of two parts which are inserted one inside the other with a perfect click of Swiss precision. 

 

BASE WIDE(LARGE) / SMALL / ROUNDED / POLISHED

When these terms are used, they refer to the characteristics of the base that may be large (13 mm), small (11), with round edges or not, or again polished or not.

 

 

LOST WAX

The lost wax technique is a process of moulding that begins with an original carving in wax (wikipedia).

Digit 

When the term 'digit addon' is used, it means the silver addon that is engraved with the fingerprints of the person (digit=finger).

 

FACSIMILE

The copy is true to the original. "Fac simile" writing simply means that your writing is reproduced on the addon.

Mood 

The name 'mood' has been chosen for this ring, which is interchangeable insofar as the mid section is infinitely customizable and it is possible to create and evolve one's ring according to one's mood. The mood ring has been created in 2004 by Swiss designer and jeweler Cédric Chevalley.  

TANTALUM 

Tantalum is a material used in the realization of some of our addons.

About Jewelry

Jewerly


Jewellery is the art of making jewels and, more broadly, the ornaments highlighting gems, the precious stones, ornamental stones and pearls, using for frames of precious metals such as goldsilver, platinum or even palladium (cf. Wikipedia)

ORIGIN OF THE DIAMONDS WE USE:

The diamonds we use come from the Swiss diamond import subsidiary, certified by our accredited supplier. A cash certificate can be provided on request.

THE CHARACTERISTICS OF DIAMOND 

There are four main features for diamond: 

  

ITS CARAT WEIGHT

The weight of a diamond is measured in carats. The word carat comes from "Kuara", the name ofcarob bean and corresponds to a weight of 0.20g. In jewelry carat is a unit of mass used for gems (not to be confused with carat of jewellers (cf wikipedia). this term refers to the size of diamond based on an ancient weighing method of diamonds using carob seeds. These small brown and very hard seeds, being of a strictly constant size, were used to measure diamonds. 

ITS SIZE 

For this criterion, people think of diamond shapes (round, princess, marquise, oval, pear-shaped, emerald, radiant, heart-shaped and Asscher). But in fact, this criterion refers to proportions. When a diamond is cut in good proportions, light is reflected from one facet to another, and is then dispersed through the top of the diamond. However, when it is too deep, light will escape through the opposite side of the diamond.

Or, if it is too shallow, light will escape through the bottom of the stone without reflecting through the top. Moreover, the facets must be accurately placed for the symmetry to give maximum brilliance.

To know more about diamond shapes or on diamond brilliance.

A brilliant designates, in jewelery, a diamond round brilliant cut (wikipedia). The so-called "brilliant" cut, composed of 57 facets, is the most commonly used form for crimping our jewelry.

PURITY OF THE DIAMOND


This term refers to the absence of visible inclusions in the stone with a magnification 10 times higher than watching with naked eyes. The result is a perfect and constant brilliant diamond, an essential criterion for achieving a pave setting or row of evenly shiny diamonds. Diamond quality VS / SI means very little inclusion difficult to see with 10x magnification. VS = very small inclusion and SI = small inclusion. 

THE COLOR OF THE DIAMOND

The color of a diamond ranges from colorless to pale yellow (there are also diamonds in all colors that are in high demand because they are scarce). The untrained eye will have a hard time distinguishing the color variations. To determine the exact color, each diamond is compared with a series of masterstones whose colors range from D (colorless) to Z (orange brown). We use H. quality diamonds.

 

CONCERNING CRIMPING 

CRIMPED GRAIN


This technique consists of paving an entire surface with tight rows of diamonds.The difficulty is to minimize the amount of material appearing among the stones by creating small grains, barely visible to the naked eyes,which maintain the diamonds in place. Each piece is rounded and polished until a lustrous finish without edges or smudges is obtained.

INVISIBLE CRIMPING 


Invisible crimping is one of the most complex techniques in the manufacture of jewelry. invented in the 1930s. This type of crimping makes it possible for stones to be placed side by side with no metal being visible.

 

 

STAR CRIMPED 


This type of crimping consists of using metal to enshrine stone, diamonds, sapphires or rubies in its shape holder. The crimper brings back to the stone four claws that maintain it in place, leaving in the metal tip four traces, which thus form a star around the gemstone and give it more brilliance.

 

 

 

 

RING SIZE CONVERSION CHART

glossaire : une bague interchangeable, mais késako ?

Addon 

Le mot "addon" signifie" extension  en anglais. Cet élément constitue la partie centrale et interchangeable de la bague. Celle-ci peut être réalisée en large palette de métaux que cela soit du carbone, de l'acier, de l'acétate, du bois précieux, de l'or rose, du palladium, du tantale, de l'argent, etc.

Addon medium 

Un addon medium mesure le tiers d'un addon normal. Il en faut donc trois pour faire un addon entier. 
Cela permet un grand nombre de possibilités supplémentaires dans la personnalisation de sa bague mood.

Addon acétate 

L'acétate est une sorte de plastique. 

 


Base 

La base est la partie de la bague, en acier chirurgical 316 L (acier inoxydable) sur laquelle vient se loger la partie centrale, interchangeable, de la bague : l'addon. La base est composée de deux parties, lesquelles s'insèrent l'une dans l'autre dans un clic parfait avec une précision helvétique. 

 

 

Base large / small / arrondie / polie 

Quand on utilise ces termes, on parle des caractéristiques de la base qui peut être soit large (13mm), small (11), avec les bords arrondis ou non ou encore polie ou pas.

 

 

Cire perdue 

La technique de la cire perdue est un procédé de moulage à partir d'une sculpture originale en cire (wikipedia).

 

 

 

 

Digit 

Quand on parle d'addon digit, on entend l'addon argent qui est gravé des empreintes digitales de la personne (digit= doigt).

 

Fac-similé

Copie conforme à l'originale. Quand on parle de l'écriture "fac-similé", cela signifie simplement que votre propre écriture est reproduite sur l'addon.

Mood 

mood signifie "humeur" en anglais. Le nom a été choisi pour cette bague interchangeable dans la mesure où la partie du milieu est personnalisable à l'infini et qu'on peut créer et faire évoluer sa bague selon son humeur. La bague mood a été créée en 2004 par le designer et bijoutier suisse Cédric Chevalley. 

Voir le film réalisé à l'occasion des dix ans de la marque mood.

Tantale 

Le tantale est un matériau utilisé dans la réalisation de certains de nos addons. 

A propos de joaillerie

Joaillerie


La joaillerie est l'art de fabriquer des joyaux et, plus largement, des objets de parure mettant en valeur des pierres précieuses, des pierres fines, des pierres ornementales et des perles, en utilisant pour les montures des métaux précieux tels que l'or, l'argent le platine, voire le palladium (cf. Wikipedia)  
 

Provenance des diamants que nous utilisons :

Les diamants que nous utilisons sont issus de la filiale suisse d'importation de diamants, certifiés par notre fournisseur agréé. Un certificat payant peut être fourni sur demande.

Les caractéristiques du diamant  

 

Il y a 4 caractéristiques principales pour le diamant : 

  
Son poids ( Carat)

En Le poids d'un diamant se mesure en carat. Le mot cars provient de "kuara", le nom du noyau du caroubier et correspond à un poids de 0.20g. En joaillerie le carat est une unité de masse utilisée pour les gemmes (à ne pas confondre avec le carat des bijoutiers(cf wikipedia). Ce terme désigne la dimension du diamant basée sur l’ancienne méthode de pesage des diamants à l’aide de graines de caroubier. Ces petites graines brunes et très dures étant de dimension rigoureusement constante, elles servaient à mesurer les diamants. 

 

Sa taille 

Pour ce critère, les gens pensent à la forme d'un diamant (rond, princesse, marquise, ovale, poire, émeraude, radiant, cœur et Asscher). Mais en fait, ce critère renvoie aux proportions. Quand un diamant est taillé aux bonnes proportions, la lumière est réfléchie d'une facette à une autre, puis dispersée par le haut du diamant. Cependant quand il est trop profond, la lumière s'échappe par le côté opposé du diamant. 

Ou encore, s’il n’est pas assez profond, la lumière s'échappe par le bas de la pierre sans se réfléchir par le haut. En outre, les facettes doivent être placées avec précision pour que la symétrie donne le maximum de brillance. 

En savoir plus sur les formes des diamants ou sur la brillance du diamant

Un brillant désigne, en joaillerie, un diamant rond taillé en taille brillant (wikipedia). La taille dite «brillant», composée de 57 facettes, est la forme la plus souvent utilisée pour le sertissage de nos bijoux.


Pureté du diamant


Ce terme désigne l’absence d’inclusions visibles dans la pierre avec un grossissement 10 fois plus élevé que l’observation à l’œil nu. Le résultat donne un éclat parfait et constant au diamant, un critère essentiel pour la réalisation d’un pavé ou d’une rangée de diamants brillant uniformément. La qualité du diamant VS / SI signifie très petite(s) inclusion(s) difficilement visible(s) à la loupe 10 X.  VS = very small inclusion et SI = small inclusion. 

 

La couleur du Diamant

La couleur d’un diamant varie de l’incolore au jaune pale (il existe également des diamants de toutes les couleurs qui sont assez recherchés car très rares). L’œil non exercé aura beaucoup de difficultés à distinguer les variations de couleurs. Afin de déterminer leur couleur exacte, chaque diamant est comparé à une série de pierres étalons dont les nuances vont du D (incolore) au Z (teinté brun). Nous utilisons des diamants de qualité H.

 

A propos du sertissage 

Serti grain


Cette technique consiste à paver une surface entière avec des rangs de diamants très serrés. La difficulté est de minimiser la quantité de matière apparaissant entre les pierres en créant de petits grains, à peine visibles à l’œil nu, qui permettent de maintenir les diamants en place. Chaque grain est arrondi et poli jusqu’à obtenir un fini lustré sans arêtes ni bavures. 

 

Serti invisible 


Le sertissage invisible est l’une des techniques les plus complexes dans la fabrication des bijoux. Inventé dans les années 30, ce type de serti permet de placer des pierres côte à côte sans qu’aucun métal ne soit visible. 

 

 

Serti étoile 


Ce type de sertissage consiste à utiliser le métal pour enchâsser la pierre, diamants, saphirs ou rubis, dans son support. Le sertisseur ramène vers la pierre quatre griffes qui la maintiennent, laissant dans le métal quatre traces en pointe, qui forment ainsi une étoile autour de la pierre précieuse, lui donnant encore plus d’éclat.